Taking the First Step

6

February 28, 2013 by Jean

Today I took the first step into my future. I signed the papers to enter into a retirement agreement with my employer, Gettysburg College, where I have been a faculty member for the past 25 years. Basically, today’s signature officially confirms my intention to retire and commits me to a retirement date – September 1, 2014. You can see why this is only a first step; that date is still a year and a half away! But because the process of searching for a new faculty member is long and laborious, the College and my colleagues need considerable lead time to hire a replacement. Thus, if I am to retire at the end of the 2013-14 academic year, the deadline for officially declaring my intentions was tomorrow, March 1.

Although retirement is still more than a year away, I feel as though I have just begun a new and exciting life journey. I find college teaching an energizing, intellectually stimulating, and emotionally satisfying activity, but I have been feeling ready for retirement for several years and counting the years/semesters/months until I could make the wish a reality. My teaching schedule involves teaching five courses a year, three in the fall semester and two in the spring. Since each of these courses meets three hours per week, this may seem to many like a very cushy work schedule. But each of those hours in class requires several hours of preparation and even more hours of grading and one-on-one work with students. The reality is that each course demands about 20-25 hours a week of my time. During the two-course semester, that works out to about 45 hours a week – a full schedule, but manageable. It is the three-course semester, with its 60-75 hour workweek and too few hours for sleep, that leaves me feeling worn out. There are so many other things I want to do with my life, and my job just doesn’t leave me with the time and energy to do them.

Happily, my retirement is not quite as far away in reality as it is officially. Although I will be on the payroll through August 2014, my teaching responsibilities will end in May of that year. This leaves 15 months of full-time employment (including one more of those exhausting three-course semesters) between me and retirement. But signing these official papers makes me feel light-hearted. I have entered an official pre-retirement stage, and my transition to retirement will now become a more central focus of my life. It feels like the planning stage of a big vacation, full of anticipatory excitement.

There are many transition tasks that need to be attended to in this coming year, of which signing the retirement agreement was only the first. I intend to chronicle both the transition into retirement and my actual experience of retirement in this blog. I want to do this for myself because I find I live my life more fully when I take time to reflect on it. But I also hope this chronicle will be of use to other baby-boomers who will be traveling this path in the years to come.

Because I am an academic, a professional sociologist, I approached preparing for retirement with the skills provided by my profession. I did a lot of reading and research. I quickly learned that much of the writing out there on preparing for retirement focuses on financial preparations. But retirement is about much more than money; the money is presumably a means to the end of living. One helpful book that focused on retirement as a way of living was sociologist Robert S. Weiss’s The Experience of Retirement (ILR Press, 2005). Weiss did extensive and repeated interviews with 89 retirees from the Boston metropolitan area. What I took away from his analysis of those interviews is that the transition to retirement includes as central tasks the questions of what to do with one’s time and how to maintain social relationships.

Taking my cue from Weiss, I am planning to post about three different categories of retirement transition and experience: finances, time/activities, and social relationships. For this pre-retirement year, I will probably post once a week, cycling among these three basic categories. Once I am actually retired, I will post more often (perhaps once a week in each category).

Stepping into the future is stepping into the unknown. And the unknown is an edgy place, simultaneously fraught with danger and alive with possibilities. But this is a journey I am ready for, and I have taken the first step.

6 thoughts on “Taking the First Step

  1. Jean says:

    Jean, I feel honored to be the first to leave a comment on your brand new blog. I hope you enjoy the blog world as much as I do and I look forward to following your path to retirement. I feel I have a lot I can learn from you as you go and I’ve added you to my list of blogs-to-follow. Retirement is exciting and I’m happy for you!

    Another Jean

    • Jean says:

      Jean, I feel as though starting a new blog is sort of like moving to a new neighborhood. You have to get out there and meet people and figure out where the community of like-minded people is found. Thank you for being the first to welcome me to this new blogging neighborhood.

  2. Bob Lowry says:

    Welcome to the world of pre-retirement and retirement blogging. I’ll look forward to your thoughts. After 12 years of a satisfying retirement and almost 3 years of blogging about it I can pretty much guarantee you a tremendous journey.

  3. I finally have time to visit…I have not put in my official papers and my date is 4 months out…I am still awaiting a meeting with my Superintendent…I look forward to your reflections.

    • Jean says:

      Donna, The long lead time for filling academic positions fits well with my long-range planning type personality (I set my retirement date more than 5 years ago and haven’t wavered from it in that time). I think some of my colleagues would be happier, though, if they didn’t have to commit so far in advance. I really did have this wonderful feeling of freedom and excitement when I made it official; I’ll be interested in hearing whether that’s also true for you.

Leave a Reply

I am Jean Potuchek, a professional sociologist who has just stepped into the next phase of my life, retirement, after more than thirty years of college teaching. This blog is about my experience of that new phase of life.

Please join me as I step into my future.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Visit My Garden Blog

Jean's Garden

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

