Time for Learning

6

November 19, 2014 by Jean

Darwin programLast weekend, I attended a day-long interdisciplinary forum on “Why Darwin Matters” sponsored by the Maine Humanities Council. The program included presentations by historians, literature experts, biologists, and artists, along with a musical performance and an art exhibit. This ambitious event was billed as the first of many annual programs linking the arts, humanities and sciences – a series developed in honor of the late Dorothy (Deedee) Schwartz, former Executive Director of the Maine Humanities Council and a visual artist with a strong interest in science. The choice of Darwin as a subject for this first annual Dorothy Schwartz Forum on Art, Science & and the Humanities was particularly apt because among Deedee Schwartz’s oeuvre was a series of art works focused on Darwin.

I learned about this program from my gardening friend, Harriet, who asked me if I’d like to attend with her. Harriet’s primary motivation for participating was to honor Deedee, who was a close personal friend. Harriet had also served in the past as a member of the Maine Humanities Council and has participated in many of their programs over the years. When she asked me if I wanted to attend, she had no idea if I would be interested. She certainly had no way of knowing that, at an earlier point in my academic career, when required core interdisciplinary courses for first year students were all the rage, I had once proposed that such a course be organized around the ideas of Charles Darwin. The suggestion didn’t get any traction at the time, but I jumped at the chance to see it come to fruition in this different form.

I was excited by the opportunity to learn about a topic that had long interested me and delighted that it came now when I have time for this kind of learning. My own science background is weak and one of the gaps in my education is that I had never read anything by Darwin; so I decided to begin reading The Voyage of the Beagle in preparation for the forum. (I chose this book because I thought it would be the most accessible of Darwin’s writing and because it records the observations on which his later theories were based.)

When we arrived at the forum, I was surprised to discover that the audience was made up primarily of people in their sixties, seventies and eighties. When I shared this observation with Harriet, she replied that this is typical of Maine Humanities Council programs. When she served on the Council, concern about this and the issue of outreach to young people was a perennial topic of discussion. Her own response was that retirement is a stage of life in which people have the time and freedom to learn for the sake of learning, and that the Council should embrace that reality instead of worrying about it.

Harriet and I spent the drive home at the end of the day in animated discussion of the ideas we had encountered. We even discussed the possibility of reading Darwin’s most famous work, On the Origin of Species, as part of a book group. I find myself wondering about the origins of the stereotype that older people are in mental decline and no longer able to learn (e.g., “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks”). In my last semester of teaching, I was interviewed by one of my students for an article in the Sociology department newsletter. At the end of the interview, the student asked me what advice I would give to students, and I said:

Don’t waste your college education. You’ll never again in your life have the opportunity to have nothing else to be responsible for than just learning.

I was wrong about that. It turns out that, after the busy middle years of juggling work and family responsibilities, retirement once again presents an opportunity to indulge in learning for its own sake.

6 thoughts on “Time for Learning

  1. Jean says:

    I would have loved to go with you two, if for no other reason than it would have driven my very conservative, anti-Darwinism friends and family nuts. You should see the text books some of the charter schools around here use with pages ripped out and passages blacken out. Guess what. The kids can go online and find that missing information. LOL

    I do think your friend is right about the age brackets that can attend events like that. The historical society I belong to is the same way…very few working age people attend their monthly programs which are quite interesting if you like history. Their answer to trying to get young people involved was to form a group of college-aged puppeteers to put on programs in the summers to teach local history to grade school kids.

    • Jean says:

      Jean, I always wonder how people who don’t believe in evolution explain antibiotic-resistant bacteria and pesticide-resistant insects.
      It seems to me that if organizers of events like this one worry that “only the old” are attending, they have fallen victim to the widespread denigration of aging and elders in our society.

  2. What a great opportunity Jean…fascinating actually about the idea of being retired and not learning anymore. I think we find our areas of interest and keep going after so many years of work. Now we can pursue dreams again. Love your last thoughts….I never thought of retirement that way…learning for the fun of it again! Perfection.

    • Jean says:

      Donna, I hadn’t consciously thought about it that way, either — although I knew that I was looking forward to time to learn new things. But I realize that my experience of “hyper-learning” is an experience of learning for the fun of it.

  3. […] Originally published on November 19, 2014 in the blog “Stepping Into the Future: A retirement journal.” […]

Leave a Reply

I am Jean Potuchek, a professional sociologist who has just stepped into the next phase of my life, retirement, after more than thirty years of college teaching. This blog is about my experience of that new phase of life.

Please join me as I step into my future.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Visit My Garden Blog

Jean's Garden

